Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-25 - 7:09 p.m.

John O'Neill, one of the founders of the anti-John Kerry veterans' group, Swift Boat Veterans for Truth, apparently played it a little fast and loose with the truth himself. O'Neill (like Kerry, a swift boat commander in Vietnam), accuses his former comrade of lying about crossing into Cambodia in 1968, which would have been beyond the legal borders of the war at that time. O'Neill claimed to CNN that he never crossed the border, and maintained that Kerry hadn't, either. But in a 1971 discussion with then-President Nixon, the transcript of which was obtained by CNN, O'Neill told a different story:

O'NEILL: I was in Cambodia, sir. I worked along the border on the water.

NIXON: In a swift boat?

O'NEILL: Yes, sir.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!