Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-12 - 3:21 p.m.

I'm reading: Wired.com

I'm listening to: Butthole Surfers

Quote O' The Day: Harry S Truman: "The buck stops here."

CIA Director George Tenet took the blame Friday for President Bush's false allegation about an Iraqi nuclear deal in his January State of the Union address. Tenet said CIA officials reviewed portions of the draft speech and raised concerns about allegations that Iraq sought to buy uranium from Niger. But he said the officials failed to stop Bush from making the remark despite the doubts about its validity. Bush and Condoleezza Rice blamed the CIA for the president's falsehood, even though an October 2002 CIA report questioned the intelligence. And when Congress called for someone to be held accountable, the CIA director took the rap. After all, how could the prez be expected to check such a piddly detail?

This was lifted from Wired.com

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!